Live streams 2021.

All live streams during the festival period from April 14 to 18, 2021 will be embedded on our website and can be accessed free of charge.

In our Wonder.me room, there will be “Industry Talks” with guests every day, moderated by Corinna Gerhards. Go to Wonder.me. 

Wednesday, April 14, 2021

Klappe! 48h short film competition

All films and award ceremony, starting from 6.30 p.m. live from Schauburg Bremen

Short and creative: The 48h short film competition Klappe! opens the five-day Filmfest Bremen on Wednesday, April 14, 2021. The event will be hosted by Franziska Kirchner and Fabian Nolte, and it will be streamed live from the Schauburg Bremen.

38 submissions under the motto “Blooming Time” run in the competition this year. All films will be shown live from 6.30 p.m., the top 10 teams selected by the jury will be present and talk to the hosts about their competition entries.

The 2021 short film competition ist again made possible by Sparkasse Bremen. Prize money totaling EUR 3,000 awaits the winning films: two audience awards of EUR 1,000 and EUR 500, a jury prize of EUR 1,000 and an honorable mention with EUR 500 in prize money.

Read more about Klappe!

Thursday, April 15, 2021

Filmfest Gala: Bremer Filmpreis

The presentation of the Bremer Filmpreis to Hape Kerkeling, starting from 8 p.m. live from Theater Bremen

At Filmfest Bremen’s grand gala on Thursday, April 15, at 8 p.m., the Bremer Filmpreis of Die Sparkasse Bremen will be awarded to Hape Kerkeling.

In the free live stream from Theater Bremen, companions such as comedy actress and author Petra Nadolny or actor Kai Wiesinger congratulate; the laudation will be given by Dunja Hayali. The Bremer Philharmoniker will provide excerpts from the musical “Kein Pardon” and play well-known film compositions, singer Flo Mega will also perform live on the stage.

The daughters of the director Joseph Vilsmaier who died in 2020 are also on the guest list and will talk about their father’s last directorial work: “The Boandlkramer and Eternal Love” is the current feature film with Hape Kerkeling and Michael “Bully” Herbig after a long absence from the screen. Caroline Link, 2019 winner of the Große Preis des Filmfest Bremen and Oscar winner, will also be present.

The event will be moderated by Milka Loff Fernandes and Felix Krömer.

Read more about the Bremer Filmpreis

Firday, April 16, 2021

SPOT LIGHT nordmedia talk&night feat. CLOSEUP Bremen

From 8 p.m. live from Theater Bremen

SPOT LIGHT nordmedia talk&night feat. CLOSEUP Bremen

The nordmedia industry talk night Spot Light at the Filmfest Bremen presents various innovative projects and media formats with three CLOSEUP Bremen scholarship holders. On this evening, the Theater Bremen serves as an extraordinary location for a hybrid event with live streaming. And it will be exciting: The new CLOSEUP scholarship holders for 2021 will be announced!

CLOSEUP Bremen teams 2019
Nine months of teamwork with Bremen expertise: the projects of last year’s CLOSEUP Bremen teams couldn’t be more different. An interactive web documentary about forced permanent migration, a serial music match by artists, an app project for climate protection and a drama series in Gröpelingen’s streets. The different genres stand for the diversity of the programme, the people behind it for the wide range of creativity in Bremen.

Saturday, April 17, 2021

Super 8 meets Literature

The Super 8 event, starting from 8 p.m. live from Theater Bremen

Foto: Timo Johannes

“Super 8 meets Literature” is an initiative of the Filmfest Bremen in cooperation with the Bremer Literaturkontor, jazzahead!, Kodak and the Filmbüro Bremen. It is as a cross-disciplinary experiment: analogue film, live spoken text and music will be combined in an exciting, often unexpected way during the projection on April 17.

Eleven teams faced these challenges and told stories on a total of 12 film rolls, examined topics and experimented artistically together. A poetry or prose text was prepared parallel to each film. These texts will be spoken by the authors during the screening of the films on April 17 and are accompanied by live music.

At the end of the evening, the jury – consisting of Ulrich Beckerhoff (jazzahead!), Jürgen Lossau (SUPER 8 magazine) and Alexandra Tacke (Senator for Culture Bremen) – selects the contribution that they like most through the combination of film, text and music convinced. 500 EUR prize mone, donated by Filmbüro Bremen, and a Super 8 reel for the next production are waiting for the winning team.

Read more about the Super 8 event

Sunday, April 18, 2021

Award ceremony

Awards ceremony in all competitions from 7.30 p.m. live from Theater Bremen

On Sunday, starting from 7.30 p.m., the awards in the competition categories Humour/Satire, Innovation, Music, Bremen Film and Focus: Literature will be awarded.

Read more about the competition

Livestreams 2021.

Alle Livestreams im Festivalzeitraum vom 14. bis 18. April 2021 werden auf unserer Website eingebunden und sind kostenlos abrufbar.

In unserem Wonder.me-Raum finden außerdem an jedem Tag „Industry Talks“ mit Gästen statt, moderiert von Corinna Gerhards. Hier geht es zu Wonder.me.

Mittwoch, 14. April 2021

Klappe! 48h Kurz­film­­wett­bewerb

Alle Filme und Preisverleihung  ab18.30 Uhr live aus der Schauburg Bremen

Kurz und kreativ: Der 48h Kurzfilmwettbewerb Klappe! eröffnet am Mittwoch, 14. April 2021, das fünftägige Filmfest Bremen. Moderiert wird die Veranstaltung von Franziska Kirchner und Fabian Nolte, gestreamt wird live aus der Schauburg Bremen.

38 Einreichungen zum Motto „Blütezeit“ laufen dieses Jahr im Wettbewerb. Alle Filme werden ab 18.30 Uhr im Livestream gezeigt, die von der Jury gekürten Top 10-Teams werden vor Ort sein und mit den Moderator*innen über ihre Wettbewerbsbeiträge sprechen.

Ermöglicht wird der Kurzfilmwettbewerb 2021 erneut von der Sparkasse Bremen. Auf die Gewinnerfilme warten Preisgelder im Gesamtwert von 3.000 EUR: zwei Publikumspreise in Höhe von 1.000 und 500 EUR, einen Jurypreis von 1.000 EUR sowie eine Lobende Erwähnung mit 500 EUR Preisgeld.

Alle Infos zu Klappe!

Donnerstag, 15. April 2021

Filmfest-Gala: Bremer Filmpreis

Die Verleihung des Bremer Filmpreises an Hape Kerkeling ab 20 Uhr live aus dem Theater Bremen

Bei der großen Gala des Filmfest Bremen am Donnerstag, 15. April, 20 Uhr, wird der Bremer Filmpreis der Sparkasse Bremen an Hape Kerkeling für sein humoristisches und komödiantisches Gesamtwerk verliehen.

Im kostenlosen Livestream aus dem Theater Bremen gratulieren Wegbegleiter*innen und Wegbereiter*innen wie Comedy-Schauspielerin und Autorin Petra Nadolny oder Schauspieler Kai Wiesinger; die Laudatio hält Dunja Hayali. Die Bremer Philharmoniker begleiten mit Auszügen aus dem Musical „Kein Pardon“ und spielen bekannte Filmkompositionen, Sänger Flo Mega wird ebenfalls auf der Bühne des Theaters auftreten.

Auf der Gästeliste stehen außerdem die Töchter des 2020 verstorbenen Regisseurs Joseph Vilsmaier und sprechen über die letzte Regiearbeit ihres Vaters: „Der Boandlkramer und die ewige Liebe“ ist nach langer Leinwandabstinenz der aktuelle Kinofilm mit Hape Kerkeling und Michael „Bully“ Herbig. Auch Caroline Link, Preisträgerin aus 2019 und Oscargewinnerin, ist dabei.

Moderiert wird die Show von Milka Loff Fernandes und Felix Krömer.

Alle Infos zum Bremer Filmpreis

Freitag, 16. April 2021

SPOT LIGHT nordmedia talk&night feat. CLOSEUP Bremen

Ab 20 Uhr live aus dem Theater Bremen

SPOT LIGHT nordmedia talk&night feat. CLOSEUP Bremen

Der nordmedia talk&night-Branchenempfang Spot Light auf dem Filmfest Bremen präsentiert mit drei CLOSEUP Bremen-Stipendiat*innen unterschiedliche, innovative Projekte und Medienformate. Das Theater Bremen dient an diesem Abend als außergewöhnlicher Ort für eine Hybridveranstaltung mit Livestreaming. Und es wird spannend: Die neuen CLOSEUP-Stipendiat*innen für 2021 werden verkündet!

CLOSEUP Bremen-Teams 2019
Neun Monate Teamwork mit Bremer Expertise: Die Projekte der letztjährigen CLOSEUP Bremen-Teams könnten nicht unterschiedlicher sein. Eine interaktive Webdoku über erzwungene Dauermigration, ein serieller Musikmatch von Künstler*innen, ein App-Projekt für den Klimaschutz und eine Dramaserie in Gröpelingens Straßen. Die verschiedenen Genres stehen für die Vielfalt des Programms, die Köpfe dahinter für die große Bandbreite an Kreativität in Bremen.

Samstag, 17. April 2021

Super 8 meets Literature

Der Super 8-Abend ab 20 Uhr live aus dem Theater Bremen

Foto: Timo Johannes

„Super 8 meets Literature“ ist eine Initiative des Filmfest Bremen in Kooperation mit dem Bremer Literaturkontor, jazzahead!, Kodak und dem Filmbüro Bremen. Es ist ein spartenübergreifendes Experiment: analoger Film, live eingesprochener Text sowie Musik verbinden sich während der Projektion auf spannende, oft unerwartete Weise.

11 Teams haben sich diesen Herausforderungen gestellt und auf 12 Filmrollen Geschichten erzählt, Themen untersucht und künstlerisch experimentiert. Parallel zu jedem Film wurde ein Lyrik- oder Prosatext erarbeitet. Diese Texte werden am 17. April von den Autor*innen zur Projektion auf der Leinwand eingesprochen und dabei live musikalisch vertont.

Die Jury – bestehend aus Ulrich Beckerhoff (jazzahead!), Jürgen Lossau (SUPER 8 Magazin) und Alexandra Tacke (Senator für Kultur Bremen) – kürt den Beitrag, der das Preisgeld von 500 EUR, gestiftet vom Filmbüro Bremen, und eine Super 8-Rolle gewinnt.

Alle Infos zum Super 8-Abend

Sonntag, 18. April 2021

Die große Preis­ver­leihung

Preisverleihung in allen Wettbewerben ab 19.30 Uhr live aus dem Theater Bremen

Am Sonntag werden ab 19.30 Uhr die Preise in den Wettbewerbskategorien Humor/Satire, Innovation, Musik, Bremer Film und Fokus: Literatur vergeben. 

Alle Infos zu den Wettbewerben