Maria Schrader

The Bremer Filmpreis Laureate 2023


Award ceremony
April 13, 2023, 7pm
at Theater am Goetheplatz


It all began in 1989 in the kitchen of her ex-boyfriend’s flat, between cleaning plans, free love and a kitchen clock running backwards. Already in this, her first film, RobbyKallePaul (1989), in addition to playing Malu, she also participates as a scriptwriter, as she does so often later. With films like Silent Night (1995), Aimée & Jaguar (1999) and Before Dawn (2016), she became the “godmother of German-Jewish history”. Since Meschugge (1998), she has also repeatedly taken on the role of co-director. With Liebesleben (2007) she finally presents her successful directorial debut. Despite the serious subjects, there is often a subtle humour, a satirical undertone running through her work. (e.g. Am I Beautiful? 1998, I Am Your Human, 2021).


In her work, truthfulness is more important than the glittering show. Time and again, she approaches the very big themes with sensitivity and realises them in an unagitated but uncompromisingly authentic way. This is precisely why, for example, the author Deborah Feldmann entrusts her with her book Unorthodox (2020) and the two journalists Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey with their story surrounding the Weinstein scandal and the birth of the #MeToo movement (She said, 2022).
She can’t do anything with the term “strong women”, saying herself: “When you reduce characters to one buzzword, you make them small.” Maria Schrader certainly cannot be reduced to a single catchword. Actress, author, director and narrator, bank robber (Burning Life, 1992), life-weary single (Keiner liebt mich, 1994), politician loyal to the line (Deutschland 83, 2015) or boarding school headmistress (Hanni und Nanni, 2016) – with diligence, talent and a keen sense for material and characters, she works her way up from the small shared kitchen to the big screens of Hollywood.
In 1992, she received her first award at a film festival – the Max Ophüls Prize for Best Actress. In the following years, she won the Romy, the Bavarian Film Award, the German Film Award and the Silver Bear, among others. Finally, in 2020, she became the first German director ever to win the Emmy for Best Director.


We are very pleased that the Goldener Mops, the prize of the Sparkasse Bremen awarded in cooperation with the Filmfest Bremen, can now join this impressive collection!

About the Bremer Filmpreis by Sparkasse Bremen


Since 1999, the Bremer Filmpreis, donated by Sparkasse Bremen has been honouring personalities of the European film scene for many years of merit. Among the award-winning filmmakers are the Swiss actor Bruno Ganz, the Danish director Lars von Trier and the German actress Nina Hoss.


With the cooperation partner Filmfest Bremen, the award, which is endowed with 8,000 euros, will have a new focus on national and international humorous and comedic works from 2021. The cooperation between Sparkasse Bremen and Filmfest Bremen, as well as the new focus on humour/satire, makes it possible to continue the Bremer Filmpreis in a setting that is close to the audience and to once again award an annual prize of international appeal in the Hanseatic city. An important statement for Bremen as a centre for the art of film.


The Filmfest Bremen already honoured director and Oscar winner Caroline Link in 2019 for her achievements in the field of humour and satire. In 2021, bestselling author and TV star Hape Kerkeling received the Bremer Filmpreis from Sparkasse Bremen in a virtual award ceremony from the Theater am Goetheplatz.

A history of laureates

  • 2022

    Aki Kaurismäki

  • 2021

    Hape Kerkeling

  • 2019

    Caroline Link

  • 2017

    Naum Kleimann

  • 2015

    Ruth Waldburger

  • 2014

    Sylvie Testud

  • 2013

    Béla Tarr

  • 2012

    Caroline Champetier

  • 2011

    Alberto Iglesias

  • 2010

    Ulrich Seidl

  • 2009

    Nina Hoss

  • 2008

    Lars von Trier

  • 2007

    Bettina Böhler

  • 2006

    Ken Loach

  • 2005

    Jean-Pierre Dardenne, Luc Dardenne

  • 2004

    Kati Outinen

  • 2003

    Karl Baumgartner

  • 2002

    Marcel Ophüls

  • 2001

    Tilda Swinton

  • 2000

    Agnès Varda

  • 1999

    Bruno Ganz

Gefördert durch

Unterstützt von